Skip to content

Strawberries & Champagne

May 18, 2011

Strawberries and champagne, Culinary Cheesehead style.

(Champagne cake with strawberry puree & whipped cream mixed with champagne filling and strawberry (American) buttercream.)

I’m all for leftover cake.  But sometimes you just don’t want to share your cake.

Tomorrow is our wedding anniversary.  Since it’ll be just Mr. Cheesehead and I, I tried my hand at making another 4″ cake because that’s more manageable for just the two of us.

Yet again, the smallest cake seems to kick my butt.  Give me an 8″ or 9″ cake any day over one half its size!  As you can see in the “in progress” picture below, the filling was not cooperative!

In this picture, I had only stacked the second layer and already the strawberry puree is oozing out between the first and second cakes!  Okay, okay,… I probably just overfilled them.  But both last year’s and this year’s cakes tended to be a bit lopsided and the layers slid very easily!

4″ cake, we shall meet again!  This isn’t over!

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 19, 2011 9:39 am

    OMG. That looks AMAZING. And I can’t even eat sugar. And I want it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

