Skip to content

Change of Pace

May 16, 2011

I know, I know. I’m probably the worst food blogger ever.  I disappear at random times for random amounts of time.  I have excuses.  Anyone want to hear them?

Didn’t think so.  Tough.

I dislike my pictures.  I have a point and shoot camera, which is unreliable and finicky, or my cell phone (which is about as temperamental. So much for that “HD video capable” sales pitch.  Worst provider & phone ever.)

But I’m a perfectionist about my writing, so I’ll write a post and save it to review later.  Three iterations later, I’m still not quite happy with it because it’s not what I have in my mind. So I won’t post it.

But I think I’m going to change gears a bit here, and I apologize. Even though my pictures aren’t so great, I’m going to try taking a “more pictures, less talky” approach.  For a few reasons:  1) When people ask to see cakes/cupcakes I’ve done, I don’t have to hand them my phone, 2) Unbelievably, not everyone is on Facebook these days, 3) I don’t necessarily want 1000 Facebook friends of people who just want to see cake pictures.  My Facebook wall would be insane if everyone who wanted to see my pictures only just became my Facebook friend.

Recently, in sorting through all the recipes and miscellaneous papers floating around my dining room/kitchen area, I ran across a list I’d made early 2010.  Kind of like my “bucket list” of cooking/baking.  What did I want to make?

It was nice to discover the list…but even better to be able to cross off a few things I’d made over the course of the past few months.  Ganache.  I successfully made it!  Of course, it still scares the crap out of me every time because I want to make it the right consistency (so let it cool to the right temperature, which I’m terrible about for being so impatient!)  So that’s crossed off, but not “complete.”

Marshmallows.  One of those foods I was “meh” about but added to the list because I could.   You need a sturdy stand mixer to whip up a batch of these puppies.  Even non-marshmallow fans such as myself have found themselves reaching for “just a few more” (numerous times!)  Who knew pure sugar could be this yummy? 😉

Fondant.  Notorious for tasting not-so-good, I thought for sure I’d never have a need for making or using this.  However, there is an alternative.  Marshmallow fondant.  I mean, who doesn’t like marshmallows?  (Okay…I normally don’t.  But the effect is absolutely worth it.  And similar to my surprise of homemade marshmallows, who knew if you took pure sugar (marshmallows) and added more sugar, it could be this good?)  It’s also a little fun (I emphasize little fun because it’s like working with sticky Play-Doh.  The homemade Play-Doh that you can eat!)

Jump back with me to where I said I was going to do less talky and more pictures.  I’m not going to dig up the recipes for these recipes, but I will be more than happy to help if you need them… just let me know.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  1. Vanilla Bean and Double Chocolate Cupcakes covered in marshmallow fondant with marshmallow fondant butterflies & flowers. Buttercream accents.
  2. Vanilla Bean and Double Chocolate Cupcakes with buttercream grass and marshmallow fondant butterflies & flowers.
  3. “Chocolate Overload Cake” – Three layers of double chocolate cake alternating with chocolate ganache, dark chocolate buttercream, all covered in dark chocolate marshmallow fondant with marshmallow fondant decorations.
One Comment leave one →
  1. May 16, 2011 1:41 pm

    mmmm marshmallows – the homemade kind taste SO much better! And I seriously need to try this marshamallow fondant recipe… one of these days I’ll make a fondant-covered cake at home!

Leave a Reply

