Skip to content

“Victory is won not in miles but in inches.

September 16, 2010
tags:

Win a little now, hold your ground, and later, win a little more.”

–Louis L’Amour, American author

Before I share the yummiest cookie to have come out of the Cheesehead Kitchen in a while, let me apologize for the delay.  I have not forgotten you, or you, or you (I think that about sums up my readers! LOL)  Let my tale remind you of how fickle technology really can be (and how crucial it is to back up regularly!)

Our computer died.  It didn’t just stop working.  It died suddenly on the eve of Thursday, September 2.

We’re just now getting back to normal… kind of.  (Curse you, Microsoft Office 2010!  I will rise victorious above your weird menus!)  You see, when our computer died, it took with it our checkbook, address book, photos I’d uploaded for the blog, and Mr. Cheesehead’s work documents.  We’d talked about backing everything up, but of course never had. 😦  So I apologize for the delay in this recipe, as well as the wonky phone picture.

Back to the business at hand:

I dislike cookies.

Don’t get me wrong… I like eating cookies.  But remember the small detail of me being a perfectionist?

It makes me dislike cookies.  Because I can’t make them.  Or not make the right ones.

They always come out flat.  Or crunchy when I wanted chewy.  Or underdone.

You see, I like big, thick, chewy with crumbly, crisp edges kind of cookies.  And I know they’re out there.  I’ve seen them.

Just because the ones I’ve seen that fit the bill are usually store bought doesn’t deter me in the least.  Store bakeries are not filled with pudgy little elves like the Keebler commercials.

You’re going down, elf!

 

Magic is not the secret ingredient, I promise.  BUT…. if some corporate conglomerate can make it, I see no reason it can’t – or shouldn’t – be accomplished in a small, maybe 4′ x 10′ galley kitchen. 😉

These came through on my Google Reader and looked amazing.  And really?  Chocolate + toffee?!  MMmmmmmm.  I liked the idea of making the dough and freezing it, slicing off nice, thick circles.

Delicious!!  I did have a little difficulty when I went to form them into log shapes, as the dough is REALLY sticky and gooey.  (One of my logs was a little more oval in shape.  I probably shouldn’t tell you this, but I ended up taking it out of the freezer and beating it with a meat mallet into a slightly more rounded log.  Brutal?  Yes.  Pretty?  No.  Effective? YES.  And it doubled as a great stress reliever. )

Chocolate Toffee Cookies

Source: smitten kitchen, as seen on Christine’s Cuisine

  • 70 g (1/2 c.) all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 lb. bittersweet or semisweet chocolate, chopped (I used semisweet)
  • 57 g (1/4 c.; 1/2 stick) unsalted butter
  • 385 g (1 3/4 c.) packed brown sugar
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1 T. vanilla extract
  • 7 oz. Heath bars, coarsely chopped
  • 1 c. walnuts, toasted, chopped (I forgot to toast them)
  • Flaky sea salt (fleur de sel) for sprinkling

Stir chocolate and butter in a glass or metal bowl over a pot of simmering water (or double boiler.)  Meanwhile, whisk together the flour, baking powder and salt in a small bowl and set aside.

Once chocolate and butter have almost melted entirely, remove from over water.  Stir occassionally while allowing it to cool.

In the bowl of a stand mixer (or using an electric mixer), beat the sugar and eggs until thick (about 5 minutes).  Add in chocolate mixer, blending until mixed thoroughly.

Slowly add flour mixture.  Fold in toffee and nuts (I recommend not using the mixer for this.)  Chill batter, about 45 minutes, until firm.  (I don’t think I let might chill enough.)

Divide dough between two pieces of wax paper or parchment paper and roll into ~2″ logs. (The diameter of your log should be about the size you want the cookies, maybe a little smaller, but not much.)  After log is rolled up in paper, double-wrap in plastic cling wrap and freeze.  (Can be left in freezer for up to a month.)

When ready to bake, preheat oven to 350°F.  Prepare 2 large cookie sheets by lining (I used silicone mats.)  Slice cookies about 3/8-1/2″ thick (again, slice the thickness based on how thick you want your cookies) and place about 2″ apart on prepared sheet.

Sprinkle each cookie slice with a little sea salt and bake just until the tops are dry and cracked, ~15-18 minutes.  Cool for several minutes before removing to finish cooling.

YUM!  Christine thought they were better the next day, but honestly, I couldn’t say for sure.  They were delicious, though.  I’m not a big fan of nuts in my cookies, but with this particular cookie, I didn’t really mind and don’t think they took away from the cookie itself.  (It almost was as if the texture of the toffee pieces and walnuts was so similar, they blended together.)

One small victory in the hunt for the perfect cookie!  On to chocolate chip next!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lindsey permalink
    September 16, 2010 10:10 am

    Paula these look yummy!! I am going to try them. Cookies are one on my favorite things to make but it took a lot of practice. I tried the best chocolate chip cookie recipe and it is perfect!!! You will have to try it!!!!
    Lindsey

  2. Aimee permalink
    September 16, 2010 4:58 pm

    These look so yummy…I might give it a go this weekend!

Leave a Reply

