Skip to content

Last but not least

May 14, 2010

To wrap up the recipes I used for my Operation Baking GALS Round 19 package,  I went with White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies.  When I read that Richard liked white chocolate, I instantly thought of a chewy cookie with big chunks of white chocolate and nuts!

These didn’t turn out the way I had hoped, but they were really good.  I wonder if I just didn’t overbake them a little, since this was my first time making these cookies.

Don’t get me wrong… they were addictive little buggers.  I used my smallest scoop (about a Tablespoon) to drop them and they came out almost bite-sized (~2-2.5″ in diameter.)  Altogether too easy to eat one, and then grab another as you pass by.  And another… and another…

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies

Source: AllRecipes.com and a Yahoo search (I compared three recipes side-by-side and the biggest difference was the amount of chocolate & nuts, which I changed anyway!)

  • 1 c. (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 1/2 c. granulated sugar
  • 2 eggs, at room temperature
  • 2 t. vanilla extract
  • 2 1/2 c. all-purpose flour
  • 1 t. baking soda
  • 1 t. salt
  • 10 oz. white chocolate chips (or white chocolate, chopped)*
  • 5 oz. macadamia nuts, chopped**

Preheat oven to 375°F.

Whisk the flour, baking soda, and salt in a medium bowl.  Set aside.

Cream together butter and sugar.  Blend in the egg and vanilla.  Once thoroughly mixed, stir the flour mixture into the creamed mixture.

Fold in the chocolate chips and nuts.  Drop cookies by heaping teaspoonfuls (I used my scoop) onto an ungreased cookie sheet (or a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper, like I did), about 2″ apart.

Bake for 8-10 minutes, until lightly browned.  Cool on a wire rack and store in an airtight container once cooled.

Makes ~5 dozen

*I used a few Lindt white chocolate bars because the only white chocolate chips I could find were huge Ghirardelli ones, which I didn’t want.  I chopped up three ~4-ounce bars and used about 10-11 ounces chocolate.

**The only macadamia nuts I could find were ~2 oz bags in the baking aisle (Fisher brand.)  News-flash, Fisher… I used all three bags and wound up with around 4 1/2-5 ounces nuts!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

