Skip to content

Don’t mess with a good thing

May 3, 2010
tags:

For one of my final physical therapy appointments, I wanted to bring my therapist something.  He’d previously commented that anything blueberry was his favorite.  I’d taken Streusel-Topped Blueberry Muffins once before (which is how I found out the blueberry preference) and therefore wanted something different.

I considered biscotti adorned with white chocolate chips…I looked at lemon cupcakes filled with oozy blueberries…I browsed coffee cakes studded with blueberries ready to burst.

Nothing, though.  None of the recipes really made me want to rush off to the kitchen.

Of course, then Annie posted these amazing blueberry scones – she has pretty good timing, doesn’t she?! 😉

I took her claim of “best scones ever” pretty seriously.  Thanks to Starbucks & their scones, the distaste I once held for scones as something dry and crumbly has been replaced with a mouth-watering infatuation.  What could be better than being able to make the “best scones ever” in my own kitchen?!  (The suggestion to use a dough scraper also helped sway me..anytime I can go to a cooking store and look at gadgets, I’m sold.)

I’ve made these twice since.  The first batch came out almost perfect; I was pleasantly surprised because my first attempt at something usually falls short of my expectations.  When I signed up for a potluck at work under “Breakfast Items”, I thought “I’ll make those scones – they were awesome!”

And it would also allow me to test my idea…instead of buying fresh blueberries (which were just coming into season around here, therefore a bit pricey and usually underripe), I thought I’d give it a shot with frozen ones.  I thawed them, rinsed them, laid them out on paper towelling and patted them as dry as I could get them.

In retrospect, this was not the most brilliant idea I’ve ever had.  The blueberries apparently had NOT thawed entirely. :-S  While adding them to the scone dough, folding, and cutting, they decided to finish thawing.  This resulted in watery, blueberry juice seeping out from the every possible opening in the dough and spreading all over my countertop.  The texture was off from all the extra moisture and the scones spread out more (thus losing their shape and being more flat than puffy.)

Lesson learned… don’t mess with a good thing, especially when the thing is as good as this!

Blueberry Scones
Source: Annie’s Eats , originally from Entertaining from Cook’s Illustrated, Spring 2009

  • 8 T. (1 stick) unsalted butter, frozen whole
  • 1½ c. (7½ oz.) fresh blueberries
  • ½ c. whole milk
  • ½ c. sour cream
  • 2 c. (10 oz.) all-purpose flour, plus more for dusting the work surface
  • ½ c. sugar, plus extra for sprinkling
  • 2 t. baking powder
  • ¼ t. baking soda
  • ½ t. salt
  • 1 t. finely grated lemon zest
  • 2 T. unsalted butter, melted

Adjust an oven rack to middle position and preheat oven to 425˚ F.  Use the large holes on a grater to grate frozen butter.  (Annie used her food processor; mine was not up for the job!)  Rinse and sort blueberries, drying with paper towelling.  Put in freezer until needed.

Whisk together the milk and sour cream in a medium bowl; refrigerate until needed.  In a separate mixing bowl, whisk together flour, ½ cup sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt and lemon zest until combined.

Add grated butter to the flour mixture and toss until thoroughly coated.

Add milk mixture to the dry ingredients and fold with a spatula just until combined.  Transfer the dough to a generously floured work surface.  Dust the top of the dough with flour.  

With well floured hands,  knead a few times until the dough holds together in a ragged ball, adding small amounts of flour as necessary.

Roll the dough into a 12″ square.  Fold the dough into thirds like a business letter (Annie was right… the dough scraper was infinitely helpful as the dough was pretty sticky and tough to “pick up.”  Be sure to flour the scraper as the dough will stick to it.)  Fold the short ends of the dough into the center in thirds, to form an approximate 4″ square.  Transfer the dough to a plate lightly dusted with flour (I dusted lightly and wrapped in parchment paper); chill in the freezer for 5 minutes.

Remove dough from freezer and again roll into an ~12″ square again on floured surface.  Layer blueberries evenly across rolled-out dough, gently pressing berries into surface.  Roll the dough up to form a tight log (again, dough scraper to the rescue!)  Lay the log seam side down and press the the log into a 12″ x 4″ rectangle.  Using a sharp, floured knife, cut the rectangle vertically to create four equal almost-squares (I found my dough scraper to be the best tool for the job since it was already floured.)  Cut each chunk diagonally to form two triangles and transfer to a parchment lined baking sheet. 

Brush the tops of the scones with melted butter and sprinkle lightly with sugar.**  Bake until the tops and bottoms are golden brown, 18-25 minutes.  Transfer to a wire rack and cool at least 10 minutes before serving.  

 **If freezing for later baking, flash freeze 20 minutes, then wrap individually and store in a freezer bag until needed.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mike Hoyt permalink
    October 16, 2010 8:33 pm

    Thank you for the cupcakes!!! OMG….. I tried the pumpkin one first.. it reminded me of my grandma’s thanksgiving cupcakes. Then after trying the chocolate peanut butter cupcake both Cindy and I agreed….. these are the best Gourmet type cupcakes we have ever had!! Thank you!!!!

    Mike and Cindy

Leave a Reply

