Skip to content

I’m no math major…

March 29, 2010
tags:

But I know that February 6 until now is more than two weeks.  

So this week you’ll see a LOT more activity.  A week of catching up before resuming your regularly scheduled food blogging.    

I will warn you… this week will NOT be for those that are trying to eat healthy.  The past two months have been a whirlwind of cupcakes, muffins, take-out, and anything I can attempt with my new KitchenAid Mixer that I previously would’ve steered clear from.  

Anyone up for a story?  

The scene:  Nighttime.  Boxes litter a half-empty living room of a split-level duplex. Stacks continue in the adjacent dining room.  Mr. S, exhausted and battling a sinus infection, sits on the couch.  Mrs. S emerges from the stairwell leading from the downstairs bedroom. 

Mr. S: I’m sorry, babe. Can you get me one more thing – can you bring in that box from the trunk of my car while you’re down there?

Mrs. S: (sighs under her breath, but instead of continuing up the stairs turns to the garage door) Yup.. not a problem.

[Door opens.  Car door opens, trunk lid pops open.]

Mrs. S: Mr. S, you did not. [Cue waterworks.]  

That, my friends and readers, is the second gift Mr. S has given me in the time we’ve been together that has made me cry .    

Photo from Meijer.com

Hello, Gorgeous! (Yes, I hug it at random.  I did not try to snuggle with it at night… Mr. S is understanding, but I figured that might be pushing it even for him!) 

Remember me saying I’m using this bad boy to attempt things I’d normally never consider?  For the small Open House we had after moving into our new duplex, Mr. S and I decided we wanted sliders.  Of course, that presented an issue: where in the Green Bay area do you get slider buns?  Answer: You don’t.  

I wondered to myself just how hard it would be to make them…

I’ve heard that if you put something out into the universe, you can expect it to come back around to you.   Well, the Universe heard my internal pondering and sent back to me these beautiful Light Brioche Buns from Smitten Kitchen via Annie’s Eats.  Thankfully, Annie had taken Deb’s recipe and provided instructions adapted for a stand mixer.  Since this was the first time I’ve attempted anything made with yeast in YEARS (probably over a decade), I really appreciated it and knew I could trust Annie’s recipes.  

The buns were a huge hit and people were very impressed I’d MADE them.  (Really, people… I hate to bust your Martha Stewart bubble, but Martha Stewart I am not.  My mixer did all the serious work.  I merely separated them into what I thought was the right size… and then split them again to the actual right size after seeing them rise further into normal sized buns.)  

Even Mr. S said these should be a “make again” item.  

(Of course, the week after our Open House, Mr. S was talking to one of his accounts and mentioned we hadn’t been able to find small, slider-sized buns in Green Bay… and she informed him that particular account (not in Green Bay, but close enough) sold one of their breads perfectly sized for sliders.  *rolls eyes*)  

Caution: this may be the worst food picture I’ve ever taken.  It was day 2 of three days of food preparation and the yeast dough kicked my ass.  (I, however, came out victorious in the end.) 

Light Brioche Burger Buns 

Source: Annie’s Eats and Smitten Kitchen

  • 3 tbsp. warm milk 
  • 1 cup warm water
  • 2 tsp. instant yeast (I actually used active dry yeast because I refused to pay $6 for a jar of instant yeast)
  • 2½ tbsp. sugar
  • 1½ tsp. salt
  • 1 large egg
  • 3 cups bread flour
  • 1/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2½ tbsp. unsalted butter, softened

For topping:

  • 1 large egg beaten with 1 tbsp. water, for egg wash
  • Sesame seeds (I omitted)

In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, combine the milk, water, yeast, sugar, salt and egg.  Mix briefly to combine.  Add the flours to the bowl, and mix until incorporated.  Mix in the butter.  Switch to the dough hook and knead on low speed for about 6-8 minutes.  The dough will be somewhat tacky, but you want to avoid adding too much extra flour which will create tough buns.  

Transfer the dough to a lightly oiled bowl.  Cover with plastic wrap and let rise in a warm place until doubled in bulk, 1-2 hours. 

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a silicone baking mat.  Using a dough scraper, divide the dough into 8 equal parts.  Gently roll each portion of dough into a ball and place on the baking sheet, 2-3 inches apart.  Cover loosely with lightly oiled plastic wrap and let rise again, 1-2 hours, until puffed up and nearly doubled.  

Set a large metal pan of water on the lowest rack of the oven.  Preheat the oven to 400˚ F with a rack in the center.  Brush the tops of the buns lightly with the egg wash and sprinkle with sesame seeds.  Bake the buns about 15 minutes rotating halfway through baking, until the tops are golden brown.  Transfer to a rack to cool completely.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Stacie permalink
    April 10, 2010 10:16 pm

    SO jealous that Mr. S actually does sweet and romantic things for you. Mr. D not so much! (and by the way, I would have snuggled with the mixer as I want one soooo badly!)

Leave a Reply

