Skip to content

“Do not adjust your set…”

February 6, 2010

The color on your screen is probably quite accurate.

This dish is quite yellow.  Do not be alarmed; it’s the turmeric.  Do be forewarned, however, that whatever utensil you use to stir this may take on a yellowish hue as well.  (Both times we’ve made this – once with a rubber spatula, once with a bamboo spoon, our utensils temporarily changed color, but returned to normal after the second washing.)

When I lived in England, curry was EVERYWHERE and yet I can only recall having tried it once.  Of course, that attempt was truly one of the spiciest dishes I’ve ever come within arm’s reach of – it belonged on an episode of Man V. Food.  Which is probably the reason it’s taken me so long to attempt cooking it myself.  (It’s also not exactly common in this area.)

So far, this is the best version of curry we’ve tried.  I enjoy that it utilizes fresh ginger (I’ll admit: I’d never used fresh ginger before making this) and something other than just curry powder.  Also, the title is spot on.  This dish fills your kitchen with fantastic aromas but with ingredients such as fresh ginger, garlic, onion, and cumin, I guess I shouldn’t have been as skeptical!

Fragrant Chicken and Spinach Curry

Source: Almost Bourdain Blog, adapted from Bill Granger’s Everyday Cookbook)

  • 1 T. extra virgin olive oil (Cut down from 2 T. on Almost Bourdain)
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 2 t. ground cumin
  • 2 t. ground coriander
  • 1/2 t. turmeric powder
  • Cayenne pepper, to taste
  • 3 garlic cloves, crushed (upped from Almost Bourdain’s 2)
  • 1 T. grated fresh ginger (this past time, I chopped it but didn’t care for the result as much as when I’ve actually grated it previously)
  • ~26 oz. boneless, skinless chicken breast, cubed (I modified this from Almost Bourdain, who used chicken thighs. I cannot find decent chicken thighs locally to save my life and spending a half hour trimming them for so little meat drove me bonkers.)
  • 14 oz. can no-salt-added diced tomatoes
  • 1/2 t. sea salt
  • 1 T. brown sugar (reduced from 2 T. in Almost Bourdain’s recipe)
  • 1 T. lemon juice
  • 120 g (~5-6 cups) fresh spinach, chopped (I tore them up as I went and increased this amount)
  • Fresh coriander (cilantro) leaves, chopped (for garnish)

Heat oil in a large heavy-based pan over medium heat.  Add the onion and cook, stirring, for 5-6 minutes until soft.

Add the spices (cumin through ginger) and cook, stirring, for 2 more minutes.  Add the chicken and increase the heat to medium-high. Cook, stirring often, for 5 minutes, or until the chicken is browned.

Stir in the tomatoes (I drained ~1/2 of the moisture from the can – probably would drain entirely next time) and salt and bring to simmering point.  Reduce the heat to low, cover the pan and simmer gently for 15 minutes. Add the sugar, lime juice and spinach and stir until the spinach has just wilted.  Remove from heat, sprinkle with cilantro; serve with steamed rice.

Nutritional Info (Makes 4 servings):

  • Calories – 290.5
  • Fat – 6.4g (Saturated Fat – 1.2g, Polyunsat. Fat – 0.1g, Monounsat. Fat – 0g)
  • Cholesterol – 104.0mg
  • Sodium – 359mg
  • Carbs – 12.7g (Fiber – 3.5g, Sugars – 4.2g)
  • Protein – 45.4g

One last non-curry related comment: I will be taking ~2 weeks off.  It’s pretty obvious that I’ve slowed down blogging the past few weeks while preparing to move.  Rest assured, however – I will return about the end of February.

One Comment leave one →
  1. brannyboilsover permalink
    March 4, 2010 5:18 pm

    Oh yum! I want to make this. I jsut ran out of turmeric, though. I’ll add it to the grocery list.

Leave a Reply

