Skip to content

“If you wish to forget anything on the spot,

January 28, 2010

make a note that this thing is to be remembered.”

-Edgar Allan Poe

I’m notorious for being forgetful. 😦  I never used to be… my mind used to be as sharp as a tack but alas, most days I end up asking my husband to help me find things around the house, what train of thought I was following, or what I came into the room for.  My keys, my phone, receipts, even articles of clothing!  In response to the erosion of my mental acuity, I have become a person who thrives on lists.

Except then I forget where I put my lists. 😐

Anyway, I set out to make this for dinner, all the ingredients accounted for and set out.  Then I began cooking and never stopped to read what was right before me: the recipe, including “top with shredded cheese.”  I completely forgot the cheese!

It was good anyway and I don’t think either of us really missed it.  In any case, I have included the cheese in the recipe below because … well, cheese makes everything better!

Again… this is a fairly “good for you” recipe, with more than 100% RDA of Vitamin A and nearly half the RDA of Vitamin C!

I found this recipe when I subscribed briefly to e-Mealz, a website that supplies a week of meal plans and grocery lists for a nominal fee.  While most of the recipes weren’t a very good fit for our palates, I did find a handful of good ideas.  This is one of them; I haven’t modified it much from the original, but I did swap a few things, add some seasoning, and adjust quantities more to my liking (including making it 3 good-sized servings so when we make it, I have leftovers for lunch!)  It’s become a fall-back option in our meal rotation and is very good with some pasta, or in this case, just some steamed broccoli.

Italian-Style Chicken Breasts 

  • 15 oz. boneless, skinless chicken breast
  • 1 T. olive oil
  • 1/2 t. salt
  • 1/2 t. pepper
  • 14 oz. no-salt-added diced tomatoes
  • 1/4 c. reduced sodium chicken broth
  • 150 g (~7 c.) fresh spinach
  • 1 T. salt-free Italian seasoning
  • 2 t. garlic powder
  • 120 g sliced mushrooms
  • 1/2 c. shredded part skim Mozzarella cheese

Cut chicken breasts into tenders.   In a large pan, heat olive oil on medium-high heat.  Add chicken and sprinkle raw side with salt & pepper.  Cook a few minutes until the chicken looks about half done (I usually cover for a few minutes here until the edges are opaque), then flip and cook until just cooked through and slightly browned.  While the chicken is cooking, drain about half of the liquid from the can of tomatoes.  Remove chicken from pan once cooked and set aside.

In same pan, mix the tomatoes and chicken broth, reducing the heat to medium.  Add the fresh spinach, garlic powder, and Italian seasoning.  Stir/toss until the spinach starts to wilt before adding the mushrooms and chicken back into the pan.

Cover & cook 4 – 5 min longer or until spinach is wilted and mushrooms are heated through.

Remove pan from heat and top with shredded cheese.  Cover and let stand until heat melts cheese.

This is when I should’ve added the cheese and didn’t:

Nutritional Info (1/3 of recipe):

  • Calories – 325
  • Fat – 10.8g (Saturated Fat – 3.0g, Polyunsat. Fat – 0.5g, Monounsat. Fat – 0.4g)
  • Cholesterol – 91.1mg
  • Sodium – 812.4mg (this could be reduced by nixing the salt altogether)
  • Carbs – 12.3g (Fiber – 4.3g, Sugars – 6.4g)
  • Protein – 44.2g
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

