Skip to content

You know something’s good

January 11, 2010
tags: ,

when it has it’s own Facebook page.  I mean, it HAS to be in order to have wracked up 16,000+ fans, right?!

If you’ve never heard of this before, I’m pleased to introduce you to the famous Crack Dip (aka Buffalo Chicken Dip.)  If you like wings, you really should try this, but I will warn you that it’s reportedly addictive.

Ladies and gentlemen,.. the famous

Buffalo Chicken Dip (aka Crack Dip)

Source: The Bitten Word (adapted from Frank’s Red Hot)

  • 8 oz cream cheese, softened (I used neufchatel cheese)
  • 1/2 c. ranch salad dressing (or some combination of ranch & bleu cheese dressings as originally recommended)
  • 1/2 c. buffalo sauce (I’ve heard tell that it MUST be Frank’s Red Hot Wings sauce; I tried it with BWW Mild Sauce and it was less successful.)
  • 1/2 c. bleu cheese crumbles (or shredded mozzarella)
  • 2 c. chicken, shredded (I normally roast my own chicken breast, but didn’t have time so I bought two cans of chicken breast chunks and them shredded the chunks – worked fine.)

Pre-heat oven to 350°F.  Blend the cream cheese, salad dressing(s), and buffalo sauce until combined; stir in bleu/mozzarella cheese and chicken.

Bake uncovered for 20-25 minutes in a sprayed, deep baking dish until heated through.

Serve with crackers, pita chips, sliced bread, vegetables, or tortilla chips.

I made this last time with reduced-fat Ranch (what we had), neufchatel cheese, and Buffalo Wild Wings Mild wing sauce.  It wasn’t as good, so I thought I’d try it again with the real Frank’s Red Hot Wings sauce as one of the reviews on this I’d read said this was the key.  She was right: it was quite important, apparently.  It tasted dramatically better this time around, having used Frank’s (even though I used the same reduced-fat ranch and neufchatel cheese.)  I prefer the taste of all ranch salad dressing, but the guys over at the Bitten Word say you can make any combination of ranch and bleu cheese dressings, or even any combination of bleu cheese crumbles and mozzarella, depending on your taste.

Warning: Using Frank’s RedHot Wings sauce made it fairly spicier than the last time I made it.  VERY good, but a bit on the spicier side so I can see why crackers were suggested!  Keep this in mind – maybe not the best dish to make for your child’s 4th birthday party! :S  Xena accidentally licked the edge of one of our plates and she instantely decided maybe it wasn’t for her!

Leave a Reply

